Blogtober 15th: Christmas in the Air

IMG_2156

Yes, this is a ridiculous statement to be making in the middle of October. But just try to hang on for the whole explanation.

First, I am in Sweden, and after Midsommar (approx. June 20) the next big holiday isn’t until Christmas. So all those other holidays that we decorate, prepare, bake, cook, and gather for, such as Thanksgiving and even Halloween just don’t exist. Yes, some people are kind of doing Halloween as I may have mentioned, but really, it’s not at all like North America. There also isn’t that respectful barrier we try to maintain in Canada of the “Don’t decorate for Christmas until after Remembrance Day” variety, which I definitely agree with. But there is no Remembrance Day in Sweden, so that barrier doesn’t have to exist, therefore nothing to push Christmas decorating until mid-November at the earliest. They were not involved in either World War, and in fact haven’t been in a war for a surprisingly long time. So it’s basically a hop, skip, and a jump from the start of Autumn to Christmas decorations in town.

I go to the nearest shopping centre and there are Christmas gnomes and baking goods in the kitchen shop. Down the street I live on, towards a particular social area, they have hung garlands and red ball decorations over the road! And it doesn’t help that in having to make a “Canadian” dish for my Swedish class I am baking Butter Tarts because that’s the only thing left after I eliminate ingredients I can’t find.

Don’t get me wrong, I love Christmas, and from the moment December starts I will have the tree up and cards written. I will bake as soon as I feel like it and can’t wait to buy presents just so I can wrap them! Oh, and watch all the Christmas movies, of course. But it’s the middle of October! I’m still wondering where I can find some candy corn, or even some freaking pumpkin puree for the pie I’m craving, and yet if I go into the home-wears shop I can buy a fake wreath and light-up reindeer for my (non-existent) yard.

Add the freezing weather and Christmas feeling in the air, candles in windows even at coffee shops, and an abundant need for tea and cocoa (plus this holiday drink that’s like a soda called Julmust that’s suddenly filling the stores), and boy does it feel like December in Vancouver. I’m definitely forcing myself to resist the urge to fall into it and decorate like a madwoman, but I sense that if I start to decorate mid-November (November 12th, mayhaps?) I will most likely be fitting in with the Christmas-loving crowd.

Also, reindeer.


Leave a comment